Lee PrecisionLoad DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2
Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingInline FabricationSnyders Jerky
Wideners Repackbox

Thread: Homemade Ladle?

Boolit Bub

Homemade Ladle?

SO.....got thinking.....I am a welder and wondering if I can make a homemade casting ladle out of some scrap steel I have? Just wondering if the steel will contaminate my boolits?....I was going to make it from a piece of 2" round pipe and put a pouring spout on the side, just like the RCBS ladle.....any info or ideas would be great, Thanks!

my melting pot and ladle are both steel, they don't contaminate my boolits..

just sayin'

L Ross
    Paul Matthews has a great description of a hand made ladle in one of his fine Black Powder books. It is Chapter 6 of his book: Black Powder, Pig Lead and Steel Silhouettes.

Duke

Boolit Master
    I made a bottom pour laddle from the cap from a cutting torch bottle. Cut a slot in the side and welded a 3/4 inch black iron pipe at an angle to reach the rounded bottom of the cap.
    This ladle holds 10 pounds of alloy and makes quick work of pouring 250 lbs of alloy from my propane tank smelter.
    I built ingot moulds from channel iron steel welded from the out side and coated them with graphate spray.

A lot of good guys and good ideas on this forum.

Boolit Bub
    yeah i made my own ingot moulds the same way!.....works great, they average 2.8 lbs a piece

Why not just use a soup ladle? You heat the handle and bend it and make it level and you have a ladle that is cheap and will work.

Boolit Master

Nothing wrong with making your own. I would not use galvanized pipe. Any steel tubing would be best.

Boolit Master
    I made one about 2 inches long out of 1 inch electrical thinwall and a front that I turned on my lathe and put it all together with silver solder. To let the lead in, I have a hole in the back end that is about 1 inch in diameter on the top. You can even do it with a propane torch. -- Bill --

Boolit Master